Yulianna Avdeeva
The Patio de los Arrayanes
Monday 4 July 22:30 Recital
Bach Modern



Yulianna Avdeeva, piano



Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

English Suite No. 2 in A minor, BWV 807 (1715-1720)


Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)

Prelude and Fugue in D major No. 5, Op 87 (1950-1951)


Johann Sebastian Bach

Toccata in D major, BWV 912 (1703-1707?)


Dmitri Shostakovich

Prelude and Fugue in C-sharp minor (completed by Krzysztof Meyer, 2020)


Johann Sebastian Bach

Partita No. 2 in C minor, BWV 826 (1726)

Concert with no interval

Bach and Shostakovich

Twelve years after she won the Warsaw Chopin Competition and now with extraordinary maturity, Moscow-born Yulianna Avdeeva debuts at the Festival with a program that connects Bach with Shostakovich. And the connection is engaging since it offers Bach’s view of the toccatas (that of his youthful and virtuosic stylus phantasticus) and the dances, that is, the most sensual, familiar and courteous Bach, while Shostakovich is left to a more contrapuntal and intellectual part, with the homage he paid to the Well-Tempered Clavier in 1950 by writing his own 24 preludes and fugues. Avdeeva will also play a Prelude in C-sharp minor (perhaps discarded from that cycle) that remained in drafts and that Krzysztof Meyer (a great researcher of Shostakovich’s work) finished by adding his fugue to it.