Trío Arbós & José Luis Estellés
Patio de los Mármoles (Hospital Real)
Thursday 15 July 22:00 Chamber music concert
Chamber Music


Trío Arbós

Ferdinando Trematore, violin

José Miguel Gómez, cello

Juan Carlos Garvayo, piano

José Luis Estellés, clarinet



Confined Music


Tomás Marco (1942)

Musica in tempore viri* (2021)


Olivier Messiaen (1908-1992)

Quatuor pour la fin du temps (Quartet for the End of Time. 1940)

* World premiere. Commissioned by the Granada Festival

Concert with no interval

From Here to Eternity

Olivier Messiaen was mobilized as a medic at the beginning of World War II and captured by German troops near Nancy in May 1940. Transferred to Stalag VIII A, a prison camp in Görlitz (Silesia; today, in Poland), where he would be released in March of the following year, Messiaen met other musicians (the clarinetist Henri Akoka, the violinist Jean Le Boulaire and the cellist Étienne Pasquier), and there, under extreme conditions, he composed and premiered one of the seminal works of the entire 20th century, the Quartet for the End of Time, a work that is not an evocation of the Apocalypse, but rather speaks of Eternity. In very different confinement circumstances, caused by the current health emergency situation, Madrid-born Tomás Marco has written a commission for the Festival, Musica in tempore viri, which will be premiered at this concert.