Pierre-Laurent Aimard
The Patio de los Arrayanes
Tuesday 26 June 22:30 Recital


Pierre-Laurent Aimard, piano


Tombeau de Claude Debussy (36 mins)

(Collective work commissioned by Henri Prunières in 1920)

Gian Francesco Malipiero: Lento

Béla Bartók: Sostenuto, Rubato

Eugène Goossens: Hommage à Debussy

Igor Stravinsky: Fragment des Symphonies pour instruments à vent à la mémoire de C. A. Debussy

Paul Dukas: La plainte, au loin, du faune


Claude Debussy

Images, Book I, L. 110 (14 mins)

Images, Book II, L. 111 (14 mins)




Claude Debussy

12 Études, L. 136 (45 mins)

On the centenary of the death of Claude Debussy (1862-1918)

Pierre-Laurent Aimard’s name is synonymous with quality and virtuoso piano playing. He is considered by many to be a visionary of the piano repertoire, and here he returns to Tombeau de Claude Debussy, a collective work commissioned by the musicologist Henri Prunières in 1920, as a tribute to that great French composer. The Tombeau includes some of the most complex and moving piano pieces from the early 20th century by composers such as Malipiero, Bartók, Goossens, Stravinsky and Dukas. Aimard’s recital will also include a selection of the best piano pieces by Debussy, this Festival’s omnipresent genius.