Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia & Juanjo Mena
The Palace of Charles V
Thursday 23 July 22:00 Symphonic concert


Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia

María Dueñas, violin

Juanjo Mena, conductor



Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Overture Egmont, op. 84 (9 min)

Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61 (42 min)

Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92 (36 min)

Broadcast live on Radio Nacional de España-Radio Clásica.

Apotheosis of the Rhythm

A very exciting first Beethovenian date of the Festival. The Berlin Radio Orchestra and one of the most prestigious and international Spanish conductors, Vitoria-born Juanjo Mena, will present the Egmont Overture, the most important of the ten pieces that Beethoven composed in 1810 for a performance of Goethe’s Egmont, and the Symphony No. 7, a rhythm apotheosis, the one that, according to Liszt’s testimony, Wagner used to dance to. In between, the young Granada-Born María Dueñas will play as soloist what Joseph Joachim, one of the greatest violinists in history, called “the concert of concerts”.