Mariinsky Theatre Symphony Orchestra
The Palace of Charles V
Sunday 1 July 22:30 Symphonic concert


Mariinsky Theatre Symphony Orchestra

Sergey Khachatryan, violin

Valery Gergiev, conductor


Sergey Prokofiev

Symphony No. 1 in D major, Op. 25, «Classical» (15 mins)


Dmitri Shostakovich

Violin concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 77 (40 mins)




Dmitri Shostakovich

Symphony No. 12 in D minor, Op. 112, «The year 1917» (40 mins)

Once again, in his second concert, Valery Gergiev invites us to enjoy the best of Russian symphony music, this time celebrating the centenary of the end of World War I. This programme features the two main pillars of 20th century symphonic composition: a performance of Prokofiev’s Classical Symphony followed by Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto with the great Sergey Khachatryan as soloist and Symphony No. 12, “1917”. These are two very different visions of the international world conflict, for while the former composer was in Paris at the birth of Neoclassicism, the latter lived the Great War inside revolutionary Russia.