Orquesta Ciudad de Granada & Lucas Macías
The Palace of Charles V
Wednesday 29 June 22:30 Symphony concert
Palace Concerts




Orquesta Ciudad de Granada

Joven Academia de la OCG

Tabea Zimmermann, viola

Jean-Guihen Queyras, violoncello

Lucas Macías, conductor



Isaac Albéniz (1860-1909) / Francisco Guerrero (1951-1997)

El Albaicín, from Iberia (1905-1909 / Orchestration 1994-1997)


Mauricio Sotelo (1961)

Cantes antiguos del Flamenco, for viola and orchestra* (2022)


Richard Strauss (1864-1949)

Don Quixote, Op. 35 (1897)

* World premiere. Commissioned by the Granada Festival on the occasion of the centenary of the 1st Cante Jondo Flamenco Contest.


With the collaboration of:


Two great international soloists join the Orquesta Ciudad de Granada at this concert, enlarged with the young musicians of its Academy and under the baton of its lead conductor, for an enormously appealing program, in which the beginning of the 20th century is connected with our time. First with the orchestration that the composer from Linares Francisco Guerrero did in the 1990s for one of the books from Albéniz’s Iberia, El Albaicín. Then, with a premiere of a work for viola and orchestra by Mauricio Sotelo commissioned by the Festival, which Tabea Zimmermann will play as a soloist and whose starting point, like so much of its author’s music, is the universe of the jondo. The journey ends in one of Richard Strauss’s great symphonic poems, Don Quixote, requiring a solo cello, which in this case will be that of Frenchman Jean-Guihen Queyras.