Orquesta Ciudad de Granada & Paul McCreesh
The Palace of Charles V
Thursday 17 June 22:30 Symphony concert
Stage Concerts (Incidental Music)


Orquesta Ciudad de Granada

Coro de la Orquesta Ciudad de Granada

Héctor Eliel Márquez, choir director

Nuria Rial, soprano

Mª José Moreno, soprano

José Sánchez-Montes, visual arrangements and direction

Tama visual design

Paul McCreesh, music director




The Magic of the Night


Arnold Schoenberg (1874-1951)

Verklärte Nacht, Op. 4 (Transfigured Night. Version for string orchestra, 1943)


Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)

Ein Sommernachtstraum, Op. 61 (A Midsummer Night’s Dream. 1827-1842)

A new Granada Festival Production

Music for the Stage and for the Night

A night opening for the Festival accompanied by equally nocturnal music. In 1899, Arnold Schoenberg composed a piece based on a symbolist poem by Richard Dehmel. The piece, intended for a string sextet, resembled a late-romantic, chromatic style, and was entitled Transfigured Night. Many years later, in 1943, while already living in the United States, Schoenberg made a version for string orchestra, which has been circulating around even more than the original composition. In the second part, the concert includes an even more popular work: the music that Mendelssohn wrote for a performance of A Midsummer Night’s Dream. The Overture, written in 1827, at the age of 18, is in itself a true masterpiece. The rest of the parts, fifteen years later, captivate the bubbling magical world of Shakespeare’s fairies in a fascinating way. This new production of the Festival has a scenic setting of projections and lighting that envelops the audience in a dreamlike environment based on the literary inspirations of both music pieces.