Orchestre de Paris & Klaus Mäkelä
The Palace of Charles V
Sunday 11 July 22:30 Symphony concert
Palace Concerts


Orchestre de Paris

Daniel Lozakovich, violin

Klaus Mäkelä, conductor



New Wolrds


Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)

Le tombeau de Couperin (1919)


Max Bruch (1838-1920)

Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor, Op. 26 (1866-1867)


Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904)

Symphony No. 9 in E minor, Op. 95, “From the New World” (1893)

From the New World

After his performances with the Mahler Chamber Orchestra and the Orquesta Ciudad de Granada, the young Finnish conductor Klaus Mäkelä completes his in-residence stay at the Festival with the Orchestre de Paris –of which he has recently been appointed musical director– and in the company of the young Swedish violinist Daniel Lozakovich who replaces the Dutch Janine Jansen. The program consists of a journey through various worlds starting in France with Le tombeau de Couperin, a suite composed by Ravel in 1919 as a tribute to French music of the 18th century. He will continue through Germany with one of the most popular violin concertos in the repertoire, the one written by Max Bruch in the mid-1860s. And finally America, from where Dvořák composed in 1893 the most popular of his symphonies, the Ninth, which –though written in the inspiring environment of a world completely new for the composer– has the colour of Slavic music and the shape of Central European symphonies.