The Palace of Charles V
Sunday 7 July 22:30 Symphonic concert


Orchestre de Paris

Stéphanie d’Oustrac, mezzo-soprano

Christoph Eschenbach, conductor



Hector Berlioz

Le carnaval romain, H. 95 (9 mins)

La mort de Cléopâtre, H. 36 (23 mins)




Gustav Mahler

Symphony No. 1 in D major, “Titan” (55 mins)

Berlioz, Mahler and the origins of the big symphony orchestra

Christoph Eschenbach will commemorate the 150th anniversary of the death of Berlioz conducting the Orchestre de Paris who will play La mort de Cléopâtre (which was awarded the prestigeous Prix de Rome) and the overture of Le carnaval romain. In this last score, the French composer implememented some of the ideas about orchestration he had previously developed in his Treatise on instrumentation, which most probably served Mahler to compose his First Symphony: an ambitous and titanic project which started with sketches of an opera, then became a symphonic poem and finally ended being a colossal demonstration of his creative capacities.