MUSIca ALcheMIca I
The San Jeronimo Monastery
Saturday 9 July 12:30 Singing and Chiming. Ancient and Baroque Sounds
Singing and Chiming. Ancient and Baroque Sounds



MUSIca ALcheMIca

Lina Tur Bonet, violin and direction



The Mystery Sonatas I (1674?)


Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber (1644-1704)

Joyful Mysteries:

Sonata No. 1 in D minor, C 90

Sonata No. 2 in A major, C 91

Sonata No. 3 in B minor, C 92

Sonata No. 4 in D minor, C 93

Sonata No. 5 in A major, C 94

Sorrowful Mysteries:

Sonata No. 6 in G minor, C 95

Sonata No. 7 in F major, C 96

Sonata No. 8 in B-flat major, C 97


In co-production with the Centro Nacional de Difusión Musical


Unveiled Mysteries I

Bohemian by origin, but linked to the archiepiscopal court of Salzburg since 1670, Biber is the greatest representative of what is known as the stylus phantasticus, to which the evolution of writing for the violin had led throughout the 17th century. His famous Rosary Sonatas define him perfectly. Conceived on an unspecified date, the cycle is made up of fifteen sonatas for violin and basso continuo, each dedicated to a mystery of the rosary, plus a final Passacaglia for solo violin representing the guardian angel. Lina Tur Bonet reviews the integral set in two sessions.