Miguel Ituarte
Corral del Carbón
Thursday 16 July 21:00 Recital


Miguel Ituarte, piano


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

15 Variations and Fugue in E-flat major on an Original Theme, Op. 35 “Eroica Variations” (22 min)


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) / Franz Liszt (1811-1886)

Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 21/S 464 (26 min)

Symphony No. 3 in E-flat major «Eroica», Op. 55/S 464 (47 min)

Beethoven by Liszt III

This cycle offers the opportunity to listen to who has probably been the best symphonist in history, undoubtedly the most revolutionary (Beethoven), transferred to the piano by whom may well be considered as the composer who has made the piano the most symphonic instrument (Liszt). Basque Miguel Ituarte begins the tour with a First Symphony, heir of Haydn, but already groundbreaking in many aspects, and with the great Heroic Symphony that would change the course of the history of the symphonic genre. Its last movement uses a simple reason for a previous counterdance, very much in Beethoven’s style, which he also used in Variations Op. 35, so that the inclusion of these in the programme is totally appropriate, as well as of maximum interest because it allows, in addition, to appreciate two radically different Beethoven approaches to variations on the same subject within the same programme.

Concert without ingtermission