The Palace of Charles V
Sunday 23 June 22:30 Recital


Maria João Pires, piano



Ludwig van Beethoven

Piano Sonata No. 8 in C minor, Op. 13, «Pathetique» (20 mins)


Robert Schumann

Arabeske, Op. 18 (6 mins)

Kinderszenen, Op. 15 (19 mins)




Ludwig van Beethoven

Sonata No. 32, Op. 111 (24 mins)

The tiny piano of a huge artist

The Portuguese artist has been announcing her retirement from the stages for more than a decade, which turns every reunion with the audience into a celebration. Because no one as her, with her shyness and tiny hands, manages to invoke so powerfully the essence of the piano literature. The recital will open with the «Pathetique» Sonata by Beethoven, and will continue with a game of subtleness between pieces by Schumann (the delicate Arabeske and the soft and tender Kinderszenen) before getting to the Sonata No.32, Beethoven’s last piano sonata. Will this be another of her farewells?