The Palace of Charles V
Friday 12 July 22:30 Symphony concert



Mahler Chamber Orchestra

Isabelle Faust, violin

Carmen Romeu, soprano

Pablo Heras-Casado, conductor


Frederic Amat, set and visual band design

Nueveojos, edition visual band, lighting



Igor Stravinsky

Pulcinella (Suite) (22 mins)


Peter Eötvös

Alhambra Concerto for violin and orchestra* (20 mins)




Manuel de Falla

The Three-Cornered Hat** (35 mins)

* Premiere. Commissioned by Stiftung Berliner Philharmoniker, Orchestre de Paris, BBC Proms and Festival Internacional de Música y Danza de Granada

** Set commissioned by the Granada Festival on the occasion of the centenary of the premiere of The Three-Cornered Hat

Stravinsky’s suite Falla never composed

Pablo Heras-Casado will put the finishing touch to the Festival with the premiere of a new scenic concept designed by Frederic Amat to commemorate the centenary of The Three-Cornered Hat, with a nod to Picasso. As in the opening concert, this programme talks about the friendship between Stravinsky and Falla (who, due to an excess of work, could not accept Diaghilev’s request to compose Pulcinella). Between the suite and the ballet, the musicians of the Mahler Chamber Orchestra will premiere Alhambra Concerto for violin and orchestra, a piece commissioned by the Festival to Peter Eötvös which Isabelle Faust will unveil from the strings of her Stradivarius dated from 1704, known as the «Sleeping Beauty».