The Patio de los Arrayanes
Monday 8 July 22:30 Chamber music concert


La Ritirata

Tamar Lalo, recorders

Josep María Martí, baroque guitar and vihuela

Ignacio Prego, positive organ

David Mayoral, percussion

Josetxu Obregón, cello and artistic direction



Il Spiritillo Brando

Works by Giovanni Antonio Pandolfi Mealli, Domenico Gabrielli, Giuseppe Maria Jacchini, Luys de Narváez, Andrea Falconieri, Martin i Coll, Santiago de Murcia, Diego Ortiz, Giovanni Battista Vitali, Antonio de Cabezón, Juan Bautista Cabanilles and Gaspar Sanz

Running time: 70 minutes without intermission

This concert is liable to be amplified

Palatial dances and the Neapolitan spirits

The programme suggested by La Ritirata is presented as the map of sounds which could have been heard in an imaginary travel to the courts of Italy and Spain during the XVI and XVII centuries. The director and cellist Josetxu Obregón has rescued some of the most sublime and representative pages composed by Antonio de Cabezón, Gaspar Sanz, Diego Ortiz and other composers, halfway between the Renaissance and the Baroque. The suggestive title of the project, Il Spiritillo Brando, refers both to the palatial dances of the Spanish viceroyalty and to the mischievous spirits of the Neapolitan popular tradition.