Manuel de Falla Auditorium (Hall B)
Tuesday 9 July 22:30 Recital


Kristian Bezuidenhout, fortepiano



Clara Schumann

4 Píèces fugitives, Op. 15 (13 mins)


Felix Mendelssohn

Prelude and Fugue in E minor, WoO 13 (7 mins)


Johannes Brahms

Intermezzo, Op. 117 No. 1 (5 mins)

Waltzes, Op. 39 (selection, 5 mins)

Intermezzo, Op. 117 No. 3 (5 mins)


Clara Schumann

Romance in A minor (4 mins)


Felix Mendelssohn

Three Fantasies or Caprices, Op. 16 (11 mins)

Lieder ohne Worte (selection, 15 mins)

Running time: 60 minutes without intermission

The romantic spirit which preceded the piano

Kristian Bezuidenhout is as good playing the harpsichord as the modern piano, although in this recital he will approach the piano literature from the perspective of a pianoforte, a bridge-instrument which confers the scores a bigger refinement and a warmer sound. In his hands, Mendelssohn’s Lieder ohne Worte will reach a new expressive climax due to more flexible articulations. He will also be playing two of the Six Pieces for piano that Brahms dedicated to Clara Schumann, of whom we will be listening to the Romance in A minor, as part of the Festival programme, which pays special attention to the music composed by women throughout the history.