Isabelle Faust
The Patio de los Arrayanes
Tuesday 28 June 21:00 Recital
Bach Modern



Isabelle Faust, violin



Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Violin Sonata No. 2 in A minor, BWV 1003 (1720)


György Kurtág (1926)

From Signs, Games and Messages:

Hommage à JSB (1998)

… für den, der heimlich lauschet… (2001)

Kromatikus feleselös (1987, rev. 1991, 1994))

… féerie d’automne… (2004)

In Nomine – all’ongherese (2001)

Doloroso (1992)

The Carenza Jig (1989)


Johann Sebastian Bach

Violin Sonata No. 3 in C major, BWV 1005 (1720)

Concert with no interval

Bach, Signs, Games, Messages

Just like Jean-Guihen Queyras, the German violinist Isabelle Faust, another benchmark in today’s performance of classical music, wanted to make Bach’s music sound together with Kurtág’s. Faust will perform two of the Sonatas for solo violin that Bach wrote at the same time he was composing his cello Suites, so confirming with his music (three sonatas and three partitas) the intentions that some Central European composers had already shown since the end of the 17th century, of passing an essentially melodic instrument like the violin off as a harmonic one. Added to Bach’s greatness are those miniatures that Kurtág collected over the decades in his notebooks of Signs, Games and Messages, pieces for different instruments and formations that also include, among those written for solo violin, a Tribute to JSB (Bach, of course).