Gürzenich-Orchester Köln & François-Xavier Roth
The Palace of Charles V
Friday 9 July 22:30 Symphonic concert
Palace Concerts


Gürzenich-Orchester Köln

Isabelle Faust, violin

François-Xavier Roth, conductor



Colossal Symphonism


Robert Schumann (1810-1856)

Violin Concerto in D minor, WoO 23 (1853)


Anton Bruckner (1824-1896)

Symphony No. 5 in B flat major (1875-1876)

Cathedrals of Sound

François-Xavier Roth is already known at the Festival, as he visited us in 2018 with his Les Siècles orchestra. On this occasion he is at the command of a prestigious German orchestra and together with one of the great violinists of our time, Isabelle Faust, also German. The program includes two of the most brilliant names in German Romanticism, Schumann and Bruckner. The former’s Violin Concerto, composed in barely a fortnight in the autumn of 1853, is perhaps less popular than the one he composed for piano, but little by little it is gaining its space in the repertoire. The Fifth Symphony, composed between 1875 and 1876, and amended in the following years, is one of the Brucknerian symphonic greatest hits (“the best I have written in terms of counterpoint”, said its author), a “gigantic cathedral of sound”, as Harry Halbreich put it.