Ensemble NeoArs Sonora
Centro Federico García Lorca
Friday 9 July 20:00 Chamber music concert
Chamber Music


Ensemble NeoArs Sonora



Crumb-Lorca Project VI


George Crumb (1929)

Makrokosmos I (piano. 1972)


Iluminada Pérez Frutos (1972)

Poeta en Small Paradise. El Lorca de Harlem* (flute, clarinet, horn, violin, cello, piano and percussion. 2021)


Jesús Rueda (1961)

The Messenger (flute, clarinet, horn, violin, cello, piano and percussion. 2015)


Felix Ibarrondo (1978)

Hierbas** (flute, clarinet, horn, violin, cello, piano and percussion. 2021)


George Crumb

Eleven Echoes of Autumn (Echoes I) (flute, clarinet, and piano. 1965-1966)

* World premiere. Commissioned by the Granada Festival in collaboration with the Centro Nacional de Difusión Musical

** World premiere. Commissioned by the CNDM and the Ensemble NeoArs Sonora


Cycle in co-production with the CNDM

In collaboration with the Centro Federico García Lorca

Concert with no interval

The Broken Bows Where Time Suffers

The Ensemble NeoArs Sonora, established in 2008 from the experience of its members in the interpretation and composition of contemporary music, will be in charge of putting an end to this cycle by combining commissioned works and other revived works between two instrumental pieces by the composer George Crumb, who has been the leitmotiv of this series of concerts due to his affinity with Federico García Lorca. The loose verses from Gacela de la terrible presencia (El Diván del Tamarit) hover over the score of Once ecos del otoño (Eleven Echoes of Autumn), which is an exploration of the timbral possibilities of the instruments. We will listen to the first of the four volumes that makes up Makrokosmos, also known as “Twelve Fantasy Pieces According to the Zodiac.” The magical properties of music; the issue of the origin of the devil; the timelessness of time; the ironies of life are reflections that travel through the staves. And the poet will also be heard in Poeta en Small Paradise. El Lorca de Harlem, by Granada-born composer, researcher and professor Iluminada Pérez Frutos, commissioned by the Granada Festival. The second commission, this time from the CNDM and NeoArs Sonora, will be for Félix Ibarrondo, defined by the musicologist Harry Halbreich as “an independent composer who has gradually prevailed by his communication power.” We will also hear a 2015 composition built on four chords by Madrid-born Jesús Rueda (2004 National Music Award), one of the indisputable values ​​of new Spanish music, premiered precisely by NeoArs Sonora.