Enriqueta Somarriba
Corral del Carbón
Thursday 23 July 21:00 Recital


Enriqueta Somarriba, piano



Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) / Franz Liszt (1811-1886)

Symphony No. 9 in D minor «Choral», Op. 125/S 464 (75 min)

Concert without intermission

Beethoven by Liszt V

This cycle is closed by Madrid-born Enriqueta Somarriba, resident in New York, with the Everest of the Beethovenian symphonic cycle. The Hungarian, who had already transcribed the work for two pianos, made a first transfer for one piano restricted to the first three movements. He wrote again and again to the editor (Breitkopf) to be dispensed from the task of transcribing the latter, which he considered unworkable as it added to the difficulty of bringing the vocals to the keyboard, that of moving the orchestra. But even that which seemed unrealizable was finally carried out almost completely by Liszt, with a score of incredible dimension and fearsome difficulty, and in which, in an amazing way, the inevitable omission of some parts of the vocal line is barely noticed.

Subscription for Beethoven Complete Symphonies

You may buy a subscription for the five concerts of the cycle which will take place at the Corral del Carbón with the complete Beethoven by Listz symphonies. With the subscription you will have a 20% reduction on the price of the tickets. You may buy it via internet from June 16.