Elisabeth Leonskaja
Manuel de Falla Auditorium
Saturday 10 July 20:00 Recital
Great Performers


Elisabeth Leonskaja, piano



From the Schubertian Fantasy


Franz Schubert (1797-1828)

3 Klavierstücke, D 946 (1828)

Piano Sonata in A minor, D 784, Op. 143 (1823)

Fantasy for Piano in C Major, D 760, Op. 15, “Wanderer-Fantasie” (1822)

Concert with no interval

Schubert’s Virtuosity

Leonskaja, one of the greatest ladies of the European piano of the last decades, has long demonstrated her special affinity with Schubert’s universe, to which she dedicates a monograph including, in chronological order: the Wanderer Fantasy, one of the most virtuosistic works of the Viennese composer, who wrote it just after the interruption of his work with his most famous orchestral piece, the Unfinished Symphony; Sonata D 784, a somewhat enigmatic work, which seems to start in an epic way, but stands out for its intimate and poetic sense; and the Three Pieces D 946, works from the composer’s absolute maturity, composed only six months before his death, real impromptus that contain the best of Schubertian art, that refined and highly original harmonic treatment, that melodic lyricism, that taste for syncopation.