Corral del Carbón
Wednesday 26 June 22:00 Masters of the future


Dmytro Choni, piano



Masters of the future


Franz Liszt

Les cloches de Genève: Nocturne, S. 160/9


Johannes Brahms

Rhapsodies, Op. 79


Claude Debussy

Images I, L. 110


Serguei Rachmaninov

Daisies, Op. 38 No. 3

Lilacs, Op. 21 No. 5

Moments Musicaux, Op. 16 No. 4


Franz Liszt

Après une lecture de Dante, fantasia quasi sonata, S. 161/7

Dmytro Choni won the Firste Prize of the XIX Paloma O’Shea Santander International Piano Competition

Running time: 60 minutes without intermission

A winning piano riding towards the future

Last summer the Ukranian pianist Dmytro Choni won the XIX Concurso Internacional de Piano de Santander Paloma O’Shea with a vigorous performance of  Prokofiev’s Concerto No. 3. He visits Granada with a programme designed in accordance with his talent: he will start with Les cloches de Genève, a piece which evokes Liszt’s years of pilgrimage in Switzerland, and will close the recital with the Dante Sonata, from the composer’s second travel book. In between: the content intimacy of Brahms’ two Rhapsodies, Debussy’s suggestive Images and two passionate romances by Rachmaninoff, of whom we will also listen to the Chopinian style Presto of his Moments Musicaux.