Daniel Oyarzábal
The San Jeronimo Monastery
Sunday 18 July 12:30 Recital
The organs of Granada


Daniel Oyarzábal, organ



A Concert of Nations


Works by Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck, Sebastián Albero, Francisco Correa de Arauxo, Johan Bernhard Bach, Dietrich Buxtehude, Henry Purcell, Johann Joseph Fux, Bernard Foccroulle, Louis Couperin, Bernardo Storace, Alessandro Marcello and Domenico Scarlatti

Concert with no interval

Europe in an Organ

This concert is about travelling. Starting with the instrument itself, which Fray Francisco Alejo Muñoz built for the Convent of Santa Paula, from where it would later be moved to its current location in the transept of the Monastery of San Jerónimo. Daniel Oyarzábal immerses himself in an imposing journey that takes him from northern Germany (a cousin of J.S. Bach, Buxtehude) to Italy (Storace, Marcello), from the Netherlands (Sweelinck) and Belgium (Foccroulle) to Spain (Albero, Correa, Scarlatti), from England (Purcell) to France (Louis Couperin) and Austria (Fux). It is also a journey back in time because, although most of the music was written in the 17th century, there are also pieces from the 16th, 18th and even 20th centuries. Music for the king of instruments, the flower of European culture.