Cuarteto Quiroga & Javier Perianes
Patio de los Mármoles (Hospital Real)
Tuesday 13 July 22:00 Chamber music concert
Chamber Music


Cuarteto Quiroga

Aitor Hevia, violin

Cibrián Sierra, violin

Josep Puchades, viola

Helena Poggio, cello

Javier Perianes, piano



Romantic passion


Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

String Quartet in C minor, Op. 51 No. 1 (1873)


Robert Schumann (1810-1856)

Quintet for Piano and Strings in E flat major, Op. 44 (1842)

Music Among Friends

As an artist in residence of the Festival, the third appearance of Javier Perianes will be with the Cuarteto Quiroga, one of the most important current Spanish chamber ensembles. And their association will allow for the listening to a mainstay of the romantic repertoire, the Piano Quintet by Robert Schumann, a work created in the autumn of 1842, at a time of intense chamber activity by the composer and dedicated to his wife Clara, one of the great female virtuosos of the century. A brilliant work, full of exuberance and force, the Quintet seems to enlighten, at a distance of 30 years, Brahms’s Quartet No. 1, which the Quiroga ensemble will play in the first part. The same passion is the inspiring touch in both works, dominated by the feeling of joy and vitality, perhaps that passion for friendship that Brahms shared with the Schumann couple.