The Patio de los Arrayanes
Monday 24 June 22:30 Chamber music concert



Antti Tikkanen, violin

Minna Pensola, violin

Atte Kilpeläinen, viola

Tomas Djupsjöbacka, cello



Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel

String Quartet in E-flat major (23 mins)


Kaija Saariaho

Terra Memoria (20 mins)




Robert Schumann

String Quartet No. 3, Op. 41/3 (32 mins)

This concert is liable to be amplified

The forgotten music or the quartet as a genre

 Despite her extraordinary musical talent and having bequeathed a catalogue of more than four hundred works, Fanny Mendelssohn remained all her life in her brother’s shadow, to the point that her emotional String Quartet was published 150 years after being composed. Nothing to do with Robert Schumann, who premiered his three quartets in 1843 to the delight of his friend and critic Felix Mendelssohn. The programme closes with a piece by a contemporary composer, the Finnish Kaija Saariaho, whose piece is devoted to the decesased. She explores the possibilities of each instrument in this piece, twenty years after her first contribution to the genre with Nymphea.