Cuarteto Cosmos
The Patio de los Arrayanes
Monday 27 June 22:30 Chamber music concert
Chamber Music




Cuarteto Cosmos

Bernat Prat, violin

Helena Satué, violin

Lara Fernández, viola

Oriol Prat, violoncello



Claude Debussy (1826-1918)

String Quartet in G minor, Op. 10 L. 85 (1893)


Mauricio Sotelo (1961)

String Quartet No. 3 “La mémoire incendiée: la guitare” (2007-2009)


Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)

String Quartet in F major (1903)

Concert with no interval

Between France and the Strumming of Guitars

The young Cosmos Quartet approaches here two of the most emblematic works of French chamber music. Separated by a decade, Debussy’s and Ravel’s quartets speak to us in different languages: relying on the cyclical principle of Cesar Franck’s school, Debussy’s (from 1893) seems to look to the past of his own music rather than to what it was about to arrive; in Ravel’s (from 1903), although he also uses cyclical elements, he expresses himself categorically with his mature language. In between, Mauricio Sotelo once again shows with his Quartet No. 3 that the universe of jondo is always a point of reference for his music, which in this case seems to resort to the sound of flamenco guitars.