Cuarteto Casals & Juan Pérez Floristán
The Patio de los Arrayanes
Monday 20 June 22:30 Chamber music concert
Chamber Music




Cuarteto Casals

Abel Tomàs, violin

Vera Martínez, violin

Jonathan Brown, viola

Arnau Tomàs, violoncello


Juan Pérez Floristán, piano




Mauricio Sotelo (1961)

String Quartet No. 4 “Quasals vB-131” (2017)


Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)

String Quartet No. 3 in D major, Op. 44/1 (1838)


Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

Piano Quintet in Fa minor, Op. 34 (1864)


The Cuarteto Casals begins by playing a piece that Mauricio Sotelo dedicated to them in 2017, his Quartet No. 4, which sets off from op. 131 by Beethoven, reinterpreted in a spectral key. Later, the Spanish group stands at the very centre of Romanticism, paying attention to two of the leading composers from two different generations. From the first generation of romantics, possibly the most classic of them all, Mendelssohn, they perform one of his most exuberant works in the genre, the op. 44 No. 1. From the second great generation, the Cuarteto Casals will approach another great classic composer, Brahms, but this time in the company of the pianist Juan Pérez Floristán, with whom they will offer one of the most memorable pieces of chamber music of the entire 19th century, the Quintet op. 34.