Arcadi Volodos
Manuel de Falla Auditorium
Saturday 26 June 20:00 Recital
Great Performers


Arcadi Volodos, piano



Expansive Schubert, Essential Brahms


Franz Schubert (1797-1828)

Piano Sonata in G major, D 894, Op. 78 (1826)


Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

Sechs Klavierstücke, Op. 118 (1893)


Concert with no interval

Schubert in a Dialogue with Brahms

Schubert was a 29-year-old when he faced the writing of his Sonata D 894 in the autumn of 1826. He would only live two more years. The work, which was released the following year as if they were four independent pieces, is marked by its very extensive first movement, a piece of a completely ecstatic lyricism, which was the one that inspired the editor with the by-name of Fantasy. Brahms was already in his 60s when he wrote the Six Pieces of Op. 118 in the summer of 1893. He would only live on less than four years. Shortly before that, he had threatened to leave composition, to return to works of exciting nudity and essentiality. Arcadi Volodos puts them into a dialogue, the young man with the old man, both in their last (superb) artistic endeavours.