Orquesta Ciudad de Granada & Josep Pons
The Palace of Charles V
Thursday 16 June 22:30 Symphony concert
Palace Concerts




Orquesta Ciudad de Granada

Juan Pérez Floristán, piano

Josep Pons, conductor





Claude Debussy (1826-1918) / Manuel de Falla (1876-1946)

Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune (1924)


Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)

Piano Concerto for the Left Hand in D major (1929-1930)


Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)

L’Oiseau de feu (Suite, 1945)


Four Great Masters in the Paris of 1900

In 1894, Debussy had written the Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun, one of the founding creations of musical modern age. Just thirty years later, Falla arranged the piece by reducing its orchestration for the Orquesta Bética de Cámara that he had just founded in Seville. At its premiere, a young Ernesto Halffter exclaimed: “It sounds better than the original!” In 1909, Stravinsky’s presentation in Paris of The Firebird, written for Diaghilev’s Ballets Russes, marked an epoch. In the late 1920s, Ravel joined the composers who dedicated their music to Paul Wittgenstein, a pianist who had lost his right arm in the Great War. They are four great masters who met in Paris at the beginning of the 20th century and who are reunited here by the Orquesta Ciudad de Granada.