2023 Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg I
The Palace of Charles V
Thursday 6 July 22:00 Symphony concert
Palace Concerts






Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg

Yuja Wang, piano

Gustavo Gimeno, conductor




Francisco Coll (1985)

Aqua Cinerea (2005)


Serguéi Rajmáninov (1873-1943)

Rhapsody on a theme of Paganini in A minor, Op. 43 (1934)



Richard Strauss (1864-1949)

Suite from Der Rosenkavalier, Op. 59 (1909-1910)


Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)

La valse (1919-1920)

Presentation of Gustavo Gimeno

Gustavo Gimeno has become one of the most international Spanish conductors of the time. He had not yet debuted at the Festival, but he will do it with a work that in its day was also the first composition of another Valencian musician, Francisco Coll, who at the age of barely 19, composed this Aqua Cinerea that Gimeno has already toured around half the world. This time it will serve to open a concert that will later focus on works from the early 20th century that exploit the possibilities of the orchestra in a spectacular way: Rachmaninov displays all his colours to cover the virtuosity of the piano, which this time will be played by one of the greatest performers of today, Yuja Wang. Strauss and Ravel are, without the slightest doubt, two of the most subtle, elegant and dazzling orchestrators that have ever existed.