2023 Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg II
The Palace of Charles V
Friday 7 July 22:00 Symphony concert
Palace Concerts






Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg

Gustavo Gimeno, conductor



Triptych Mahler I


Tomás Marco (1942)

Angelus Novus (Mahleriana 1) (1971)


Gustav Mahler (1860-1911)

Symphony No. 6 in A minor «Tragic» (1903-1905)

Tragic Mahler

The second appearance of the Luxembourg Philharmonic conducted by Gustavo Gimeno will bring the first chapter of a triptych dedicated to Mahler. It will be with Symphony No. 6, one of the most surprising works by its author, known as Tragic due to the gloomy character of the last movement, a pessimism that is not justified by the biographical events, since the work was written between 1903 and 1905, in one of the happiest times in the life of the composer, recently married to Alma and celebrating the birth of his daughter Anna in 1904. The musician would later justify the tragic weight of his work to a friend by writing: «The cruelties I have suffered and the pains I have been through!». Gimeno and the Luxembourg Philharmonic accompany the great Mahlerian score with the tribute that the Madrid born composer Tomás Marco paid him in 1971 with his Angelus Novus.

Concert with no interval